A New Kind of New Year’s Resolution

While I’ve never been much for making New Year’s resolutions, I do try to think about the things I’d like to do differently and the things I’d like to accomplish each New Year. And that is the thing about resolutions – they are all about “I”. This is not necessarily a negative; goodness knows there are an infinite number of things I could and should work to improve upon in my life and in my self. But this is where most resolutions begin and end – with ME. Which is likely why most of mine fade into the background, because I lack the resolve, strength, memory, or will to fulfill them over the course of the year. There is a paradox here – I want to be the one to make the necessary changes, but the truth is I am my own biggest obstacle.

Mary Untier of Knots. Image Courtesy of Wikipedia.

Mary Untier of Knots. Image Courtesy of Wikipedia.

It isn’t a coincidence that the Catholic Church celebrates New Year’s Day as the Solemnity of Mary Mother of God. This is a day, the first day of a new year filled with hope and promise, in which the Church invites me to remember that I have a mother who is very concerned with everything that concerns me and all those I care about. She wants me to remember to involve and include her in my thoughts, plans, hopes, dreams, and resolutions for the year. This year, instead of going it alone as has been my past practice, I’ve decided to turn over my resolutions and all that needs fixing and improving and adjusting in my life to someone else’s more capable hands: Mary, the Untier of Knots. (Read more . . . )

This entry was posted in Art, Beauty, Confidence, Faith, Family, Grace, Hope, Mary, Prayer, Spiritual Life, Trust, Values/Morality, Vocation, Work, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A New Kind of New Year’s Resolution

  1. Carolyn O says:

    You write so beautifully, Angela. I’m sure Mary will intercede for you this year. Thinking of you!

    • Angela says:

      Aww….thanks, you! 🙂

      Happy New Year to you and yours! Enjoy Paradise Lost! Love that book!

      • Carolyn O says:

        Happy New Year! Thank you for the email — I’ll reply after our Nor’easter!

      • Angela says:

        I will look forward to it whenever you have the time! Been offline for over a week — except a brief foray into a wi-fi cafe. Hope to catch up soon! Have you dug out from the snow drifts yet?

      • Carolyn O says:

        We hit nearly 60 degrees today, so the snow has melted! Wrestling with non-sleeping toddler at the moment . . . grr. Hope you get your internet back soon! Also I’m forwarding your piece on Mary to my mom 🙂

      • Angela says:

        That sounds like our crazy weather out here! Our plants think its spring. . . what to do? Well, I’m glad you aren’t buried in drifts. Good luck with the wee one — I remember those days. And thank you for sharing the Mary piece with your mom. I hope she likes it. 🙂 Cheers, friend!

Leave a Reply

