Beauty Break: A Found Poem

Skippy’s up to almost 2 hours a day between piano, electric guitar and acoustic guitar. The house is filled with music and I love it. My favorite part of it all is when he just relaxes and it becomes something other than a practice session. I call it “plinking,” meaning he just goes into the zone and composes or picks a favorite song out by ear. Simply lovely….

Today, I heard strumming on the acoustic behind a podcast I was listening to while cooking in the kitchen, and next:

“Mom, did you hear what I was playing?”

“Yes…it’s a little noisy out here, so yes, vaguely, and it sounded good.”

“I found a new favorite song. . . ”

“You did?” Me, semi-distracted. . .

“Want me to show you?” And he starts singing a song that gives me goosebumps every time I hear it. “And the leaves that are green, turn to brown. . . . “

Skippy playing Simon and Garfunkel's "Leaves That Are Green"

Skippy playing Simon and Garfunkel’s “Leaves That Are Green”

And he proceeds to sing and play Simon and Garfunkel’s song of the same name, nearly impeccably, by ear. My boy and I are kindred spirits when it comes to music and I love that he appreciates and hears the poetry in a song like this.

If you’ve never heard it, or have forgotten it because its been too long, do yourself a favor and listen now. There isn’t enough poetry in the world today, and we need to grasp it and hold onto it when we find it, wherever that may be.

This entry was posted in Beauty, Creativity, Family, Gratitude, Growing Up, Joy, Life with Skippy, Motherhood, Motherhood, Music, Poetry, Simon and Garfunkel, Simon and Garfunkel, Values/Morality, Vocation, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Beauty Break: A Found Poem

  1. rosemary says:

    amazing! your love of life and the poetry of life in verse and song coming together so beautifully through little skippy your talented lovely son! so happy for you both! Thank you ,Thank you God !
    rosemary

    • Angela says:

      Oh, thank you, Rose, so much for seeing the beauty and taking the time to leave such a lovely comment. So nice to see you here, always. πŸ™‚
      Thank you, dear friend.

  2. Hi Angela, this is a most beautiful post! Lovely to revisit this song as it has been a time since I last heard it. Skippy, so good to see you enjoying and loving music – there really is nothing like it, as I’m sure you already know! Take good care, Ruth πŸ™‚

    • Angela says:

      Isn’t it a great song? So glad you enjoyed it, and thank you for coming and leaving such a lovely comment, Ruth. I know you can relate to the experience of music on a very personal level. πŸ™‚

  3. Todd says:

    Ohh, Skippy!
    Keep on plinking πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

