Beauty Break: “The Red Balloon”

This is a lovely little film which I only just saw for the first time, at the suggestion of a good friend. It’s elegant simplicity and innocence provide the perfect vehicle for suggesting the ways we take ordinary beauty for granted and how the effort to recognize and preserve this extraordinary beauty in the every day pays off a hundredfold. It’s also a reminder about the need to be more childlike, humble, and trusting in our approach to life. Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Beauty, Creativity, Culture of Life, Hope, Innocence, Joy, The Red Balloon and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Beauty Break: “The Red Balloon”

  1. Isn’t it something how the film affects you in every emotional way? All that in a 1/2 hr with a boy and his balloon. You take good care πŸ™‚

    • Angela says:

      Hey there, Kathryn. πŸ™‚

      The film charmed me from beginning to end — and I especially enjoyed the music. Just what the doctor ordered for my sick bed day over here. Thanks for suggesting it to me.

      You take care as well, and thanks for stopping by.

  2. John says:

    I VERY much remember this movie. As a boy, growing up in Orange County… I can tell you that this film was shown to my class just about every time we had a rainy day, substitute teacher, or if the teacher had no lesson plan for the day. Needless to say… I have seen it ALOT. I always wondered where the kid landed. Perhaps there is room for a sequel? Side note. If The Red Balloon was all ready checked out for another class… we watched “A Storm Called Maria”…http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0912689/

    • Angela says:

      Really? I never knew you’d seen this. Odd how you’re so familiar with it, and I never have seen it until now. I wondered about him landing too — and then I wondered if he might have died…… it’s a nice ending because it’s hopeful. Thanks for coming over and leaving a comment. I’ll check out the storm movie. πŸ™‚

  3. I don’t know this Angela – will pop back after I’ve watched it! Thanks so much for the recommendation πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

