On the Feast of St. Therese of Lisieux

Words to live by on the Feast of St. Therese of the Child Jesus and the Holy Face:

“If I did not simply live from one moment to the next, it would be impossible for me to keep my patience. I can see only the present, I forget the past, and I take good care not to think about the future. We get discouraged and feel despair because we brood about the past and the future. It is such a folly to pass one’s time fretting, instead of resting quietly on the heart of Jesus.”

St. Therese, help me always to believe as you did, in God’s great love for me, so that I might imitate your “Little Way” each day.

For more information and resources about St. Therese of Lisieux, click here.

This entry was posted in Beauty, Books/Reading, Carmelite Order, Confidence, Faith, Grace, Living in the Present Moment, Mindfulness, Patience, Saints, Spiritual, Spiritual Life, St. Therese of Lisieux, Story of a Soul, Trust, Values/Morality and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to On the Feast of St. Therese of Lisieux

  1. Angela, I recently downloaded ‘The Story of a Soul’ and I’m really looking forward to reading it. There is such wisdom in the words you quote about looking at ‘now.’ The constant looking back and/or forward is many people’s undoing. Lovely post to keep us focused on this. Ruth 🙂

    • Angela says:

      The Story of a Soul is one of my favorite books and I’ve read it a few times, always finding something new and experiencing deeper meaning each time. It is one of those gifts that meets you where you’re at. Please do let me know what you think of it. I find Therese’s example and wisdom just the thing for nearly every occasion; however, applying those principles is easier said than done. There is grace in everything, as she says. Always nice when you stop by — thank you, Ruth, and take care. 🙂

  2. I will definitely let you know what I think Angela, really looking forward to reading it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

