The First Sunday of Advent

Today is the first day of a beautiful season of waiting, hope, prayer, and, reflection. I always love Advent. I love the time of waiting and anticipation. I love how entering this time as the season changes, with the days growing shorter and the nights colder. It’s a time to enter in to the dark night, to look for the Light to come, and to wait with steadfast patience for the angels to sing Gloria.

The Church received a beautiful gift today in anticipation of the birth of the Christ Child, the Word made flesh — today we celebrated Mass with the new translation of the Roman Missal. The prayers of both the people and the priest have been revised to more closely reflect the original Latin translation. Reading over the prayers, I was struck by how reverent the language is, and how it fosters a stronger sense of humility and awe in the liturgy. There is a great deal to reflect on, especially in the priest’s prayers. In a culture which so often twists words to mean things that lead us far away from the truth, it is a beautiful gift that we have this new translation to lead us more deeply in to the truth of our faith.

My instinct at this time of year is to slow way down and to pay attention, to be more watchful. This is in contrast to the flurry of shopping and decorating and the general hustle and bustle going on around me. I find as I get older, I am less inclined to hustle and more inclined to hibernate. But I hope to at least be able to cultivate an inner space where I can remain quiet in the midst of activity, to await the miracle that is to come in the arms of our Blessed Mother, and to be more attentive and grateful for the gift of faith.

Wishing you a blessed, holy, and peace-filled Advent season.

This entry was posted in Advent, Catholic Church, Faith, Jesus, Mary, Mass, New Roman Missal, Prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The First Sunday of Advent

  1. I agree completely about the new Missal. I thought the same thing. Thank you for reminding me to slow down and really focus on the true meaning of Christmas. The coming of Christ! Love you and I am always shocked and inspired at your gift to write so beautifully!

    • Angela says:

      Thank you, Christina. I agree…the new translations have forced me to actually follow along with the prayers for the whole Mass and really pay attention more to what is being said and what it all means. The Eucharistic prayers are especially beautiful, I think. We are reminded each Sunday in the Gospel readings for Advent to watch, wait, hope. The new translation is bringing all of those to the fore for me. It is SOOOOO hard for me to slow down, but I know that at least when I go to Mass, I am being given a grace-filled opportunity to really slow down, and pay close attention. This is such a huge blessing. I wish you and your family a blessed and holy Advent filled with peace.

Leave a Reply

