Proud . . .

. . . . of my son and his choice to wear his great-grandfather’s naval uniform for Halloween this year. (You can see his great-grandfather, wearing this very uniform standing with my grandmother, in the picture Skippy is holding below)

My grandfather, Jim, was a Quartermaster on the U.S.S. Thatcher destroyer (Little Beaver Squadron) in WWII. He was a proud patriot and gave up a lot to serve the country he loved. With so many of the brave souls who fought in and experienced this war passing on, it is important to us that Skippy know and understand the sacrifices made on his behalf. Interestingly, while out trick-or-treating Skippy met another Navy man. He served on the Midway. We need to remember…..

I know my grandfather would have been thrilled to see Skippy wearing his uniform, and I know my mom would have cried. . . . here’s to you, Grampy. . . .

 

 

 

 

Postscript: Thanks reader David Navarre for pointing out this article on Wikipedia on the USS Thatcher!

USS Thatcher, photo courtesy of Wikipedia

This entry was posted in Family, Grandparents, History, Life with Skippy, Navy, Sons, WWII and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Proud . . .

  1. Mom says:

    Your mom is sooo proud of both of you!

  2. David Navarre says:

    Great post. It prompted me to go read about the Thatcher on Wikipedia. It got hit by kamikazes twice and earned 12 battle stars.

    Looks like great-grandpa was a Petty Officer, 2nd Class (E-5), rated as a Quartermaster. I assumed from my time with the Boy Scouts that it meant he was in supply, but the wheel symbol really does express what the rating does – they drive the boat and perform other tasks related to that. Amazing what your article and a little browsing allowed me to learn!

    • Angela says:

      Thanks for visiting, Dave, and for sharing what you learned! I’m going to postscript the Wikipedia link to the post. I wasn’t even aware that Thatcher had an entry there and am looking forward to exploring it myself. Thank you so much!

      I know my grandpa’s ship saw lots of action. He told me some stories when I was growing up and I know he saw other men lost right next to him. He was lucky — as were any of them — to have survived. We are also blessed to have some of his letters to his mother (my great-grandmother). All are censored and “happy” except for one he wrote after D-Day, which is quite graphic and difficult to read. It gives just a small idea of what those men experienced. We also have his Navy issued Quartermaster’s handbook. He remained active with his brothers in service until late in life and was at one time Chairman in charge of organizing the U.S.S. Thatcher reunion in San Diego. All of us were privileged to attend this amazing event. My grandpa was a miracle worker of sorts — I don’t know how he did it, but he was able to clear an active Destroyer in the same squadron to port in and let us all board, tour, and sail 10 miles off shore. Truly the experience of a life time.

  3. Pingback: A Poem For Your Pocket « Persephone Writes

  4. Skippy looks so proud. And the uniform suits him 🙂

Leave a Reply

