Triduum, Day 1

The Last Supper

 “Truly, truly, I say to you, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of man and drink his blood, you have no life in you; he who eats my flesh and drinks my blood has eternal life and I will raise him on the last day. For my flesh is food indeed and my blood is drink indeed. He who eats my flesh and drinks my blood abides in me, and I in him. As the living Father sent me, and I live because of the Father, so he who eats me will live because of me. This is the bread which came down from heaven, not such as the fathers ate and died; he who eats this bread will live forever.” John 6: 53-58

The Agony in the Garden

William Blake The Agony in the Garden circa 1799-1800
“Then he said to them, “My soul is very sorrowful, even to death; remain here, and watch with me.” And going a little farther he fell on his face and prayed, “My Father, if it be possible, let this cup pass from me; nevertheless, not as I will, but as thou wilt.” And he came to the disciples and found them sleeping; and he said to Peter, “So, could you not watch with me one hour? Watch and pray that you may not enter into temptation; the spirit indeed is willing, but the flesh is weak.”  Matthew 26: 38-41
 
“… and the angels ministered to him.” Mark 1: 12
This entry was posted in Art, Faith, Liturgical. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Triduum, Day 1

  1. Bridget says:

    Thank you for a wonderful meditation today. Bridget

  2. Cathy says:

    By the grace of God, may we all stay awake to “watch and pray” with Him during this Holy Triduum… “For the sake of His sorrowful Passion, have mercy on us and on the whole world.”

  3. rosemary says:

    beautiful meditation and a helpful way to enter into the Triduum and stay awake! focused on the Eucharist

Leave a Reply

